Katy Perry on her meeting with Madonna at the Sticky & Sweet Show in London

Publié le par madonnafansworld

Katy Perry sur sa rencontre avec Madonna au Sticky & Sweet Show de Londres.


Katy Perry: I do things my own way
Nov 28 2008 By Rick Fulton

KATY PERRY isn't the first young female singer to copy Madonna ...but she's the most successful.
At least when it comes to controversy. Her summer hit, I Kissed A Girl, became the new Like A Virgin, infuriating stuffed shirts with its lesbian sentiments.
Her album, One Of The Boys, also featured a song called Ur So Gay which was slammed for alleged homophobia.
And she was roundly criticised for glamorising knives when she posed with a three-inch blade on the day a 16-year old was stabbed to death.
Trouble seems to follows the 24-year old, just like it did with Madonna when she started her career in the Eighties.
Katy said: "I have really strong vision. No one makes me sing, no one pushes a button and says 'Dance, monkey, dance'.
"I dance on my own.
"I just think my music is very honest and cheeky and silly, and very tongue in cheek.
"I may not be the most politically correct person all the time, but that's just who I am.
"I may not play it safe for everyone, and it may not be suitable for your little sister's friend."
While she may sing about kissing agirl, Katy's boyfriend is Travis McCoy, from the band Gym Class Heroes, and she appeared in the video to his Cupid's Chokehold hit.
When it comes to Ur So Gay, which knocks a metrosexual boyfriend, she almost reaches boiling point.
"I never go around putting out fires that other people started," she said. "And I never feel like I have to explain myself.
"When people ask me this question, I feel that obviously they don't get the joke.
"And I think that there is a certain type of person who is always going to be offended by everything in life.
"It's like when the purple Teletubby is there, it's a gay scene. And we are like, 'It's just a purple Teletubby.'
"Everybody wants to have this kind of conspiracy and play doctor with the song.
"I think those people have personal issues."
With new song Hot N Cold out this week, Katy has secured her position as one of 2008's best new acts.
She hosted the MTV Europe Music Awards and will be back in February for three UK dates, one in Manchester and two in London.
In London to promote the track, she exudes style with a twist by dressing in a flower print dress and oversized cardigan.
The last time she was in London she met Madonna at her Wembley Stadium gig.
Katy
laughed: "I don't know if I'll be 50 and doing that. I'm gonna be fat and having kids, maybe be writing songs for other younger, prettier, without wrinkles pop tarts.
"Madonna always reads the guest list of people who are coming to the show, and she invited me to her after-party. It was like I was summoned. I was summoned by the queen, and I didn't know if my head was gonna be chopped off."
The young pretender admitted she was tongue-tied and starstuck.
"Of course I was nervous," she laughed. "I was really excited to meet her.
"She had a ton of people around her and she is very petite in person.
"I just remember saying 'Thank you'. I think that is all I could get out.
"I think she was in London where she lived, and had a lot of friends there. I think if I come to a show in the States, I'll actually be able to have a conversation with her."
Born in Santa Barbara County, California, Katy is the child of two pastors who weren't happy she found fame singing I Kissed A Girl.
New single Hot N Cold is less risque, although the video has Katy acting like a bunny boiler.
She said: "I think that I will always try to be on the cutting edge side of everything I do because I'm always looking forward and into the future.
"But it doesn't always have to be provocative.
"But sometimes I am and sometimes I'm not.
"I will always try to have a great pop song and tell stories.
"This one is about how everybody in a relationship has that kind of grey period where they think 'We have been dating for two months, - are we boyfriend and girlfriend?
"And are you ever gonna buy the cow, if I give you the milk for free?' "
Source: The Daily Record.


Katy Perry on her meeting with Madonna at the Sticky & Sweet Show in London
Katy Perry

Publié dans Interviews

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article