Lindsey Wixson Once Played Musical Chairs With Madonna

Publié le par madonnafansworld

Lindsey Wixson a joué une fois aux chaises musicales avec Madonna.


by Verena von Pfetten | 11:09 am, May 20th, 2011

Lindsey Wixson may be one of the modeling world’s biggest faces, but that doesn’t mean she doesn’t get star struck. In an interview with Vogue UK, the 17-year-old rising star spills the beans about the most memorable experience of her career, why she fell so many times on the Fashion for Relief runway, and how her high school friends are, honestly, kind of a bunch of jerks.
Wixson sounds like she spent her high school years (like most of us, really) starring in her own personal version of Mean Girls.
I was actually always really self-conscious about my gap. In middle school, this group of girls were always trying to beat me up – they called my gap a parking lot. It was a really awkward time. I remember first mentioning to the girls I used to sit next to at lunch that I was looking for a model agent, and then the next week they came in with a list of things they didn’t like about me. I felt skinny and tall – it was the worst time of my life. But I don’t feel like that anymore. Modelling has really helped build my confidence.”
See, the good thing about being a supermodel is that when girls make fun of your teeth, you can airily tell them about the time you played musical chairs with Madonna.
When I was shooting the Miu Miu campaign, Madonna turned up. She was supposed to be having dinner with the photographers Mert and Marcus, but they were busy shooting us, so she just had to wait. We started making the accompanying video and then Madonna stood up and said to us ‘I want to see if you girls can dance’. So we started playing Musical Chairs, with her counting the beats. She said, ‘It doesn’t matter if you’re out of time, just stay in character’. It was a brief meeting but pretty special.”
And as for the series of tumbles she took last week, Wixson told the British glossy, “I’m over it all already. It was a mixture of the dress being too long and me walking too fast. I think I hadn’t had enough water, I was maybe a bit dehydrated.”

Southern Belle [Vogue UK]

Source: Styleite.


Lindsey Wixson Once Played Musical Chairs With Madonna
5/20/11 at 2:55 PM

Like many successful models, Lindsey Wixson has traumatizing memories of people telling her she was ugly before everyone thought she was gorgeous. Of course, she was tall and skinny in her middle-school years and has all the usual "I was so gawky and awkward!" stories, but her now-celebrated gap tooth was also an issue. She tells British Vogue:
"I was actually always really self-conscious about my gap. In middle school, this group of girls were always trying to beat me up — they called my gap a parking lot. It was a really awkward time. I remember first mentioning to the girls I used to sit next to at lunch that I was looking for a model agent, and then the next week they came in with a list of things they didn't like about me. I felt skinny and tall — it was the worst time of my life. But I don't feel like that anymore. Modelling has really helped build my confidence."
Because nothing makes you feel cool like when Madonna has to wait for you to finish work, and then winds up playing musical chairs with you.
"When I was shooting the Miu Miu campaign, Madonna turned up. She was supposed to be having dinner with the photographers Mert and Marcus, but they were busy shooting us, so she just had to wait. We started making the accompanying video and then Madonna stood up and said to us 'I want to see if you girls can dance'. So we started playing Musical Chairs, with her counting the beats. She said, 'It doesn't matter if you're out of time, just stay in character'. It was a brief meeting but pretty special."
In fact, her life is so glamorous and amazing now that she's sometimes scared to tell her friends back home in Kansas.
"Prada flew my sister and I first class to Beijing for a show there. We went business class — it was so glamorous — we had our own pod and everything. The Pet Shop Boys performed after, it was amazing. I was afraid to tell my friends about it, in case they thought I was boasting. I get really scared of anyone thinking that. Maybe it has something to do with those girls from school."
Since she rolled up to prom with a CNN film crew this spring, she's probably safe from bullies these days.

Southern Belle [Vogue UK]

Source: The Cut/New York Magazine.

Lindsey Wixson Once Played Musical Chairs With Madonna
Lindsey Wixson

Publié dans Interviews

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article