Madonna - MDNA Tour: Australia not impressed with Madonna apology

Publié le par madonnafansworld


Madonna - MDNA Tour: L'Australie pas impressionné par les excuses de Madonna.


From VVN Music:

Monday, August 27, 2012
Australia Not Impressed With Madonna Apology

Madonna is kidding, right? One month after cancelling her Australian tour, Madonna has put what sounds like a completely insincere apology to her Australian fans on her website.
Madonna has only ever-stepped foot on Australian soil once, back in 1993 for The Girlie Tour. None of her world tours either before or after The Girlie Tour have included Australia.
Despite being on the road for seven months, Madonna is using her children as the reason she has cancelled the week or two an Australian tour would have needed.
Unlike other artists, like her “pal” Sir Elton John, Madonna seems incapable of touring with her children. In her apology in one breath she says she needs to cut short her tour to get back to her children then in the next breath says how her daughter is almost 16 and will be leaving home soon.
For what its worth, this is Madonna’s apology to Australia.
 
" So I just want to say to all of my Australian fans that I am really and truly sorry to have disappointed you and it is something I don’t feel really good about.
I was going to write a letter to everybody but thought it would be better if I just filmed myself and you could hear it from me personally say how sorry I am that I am not going to come to Australia for the tour.
I know the last time I was on tour I missed Australia as well and I can promise you in my heart of hearts that it was my intention to come again. But, like the last time my children are my first priority.
I have two scales that I have to weigh in front of me. my job as a singer and entertainer and my job as a mother. Because my children are older I can’t take them on the road with me everywhere. At the end of the year I feel I would be an irresponsible parent if I didn’t stop my tour and spend time with them. My daughter is going to be leaving home soon. She is almost 16-years old.
It was a really hard decision for me to make and I feel really bad because I don’t take your support and your love for me for granted. I know a lot of you are angry with me, upset with me, disappointed. I did everything I could.
I thought long and hard about it and I thought the best thing to do would be to end my seven months on the road at the end of the year and not continue on with my tour to spend more time with my children who need me.
So please forgive me and do know that when I do come to Australia I will have made the wait worth your while. I will put on the greatest show on earth. I haven’t forgotten about you. I hope that you can understand and forgive me and I want to say I love all of you in Australia and I hope to get there very soon. "

Why did this take so long to put out? Why didn’t she do it at the time the Australian tour was cancelled? This sounds completely like a manufactured statement to cover up the backlash after cancelling the tour.
Madonna, you would have been better off saying nothing.


From Herald Sun:

Madonna says she cancelled Australia tour to spend time with kids
by Cameron Adams National Music Writer
From:news.com.au
August 27, 20129:52AM

MADONNA has finally apologised to Australian fans for another no-show.
Once again, the singer has cited commitments to her four children as the reason she will not extend her world tour to include Australia.
The belated announcement, six weeks after the tour was mysteriously axed, comes on the day her Material Girl clothing line is released to Australian stores.
The tour would have been her first visit to Australia in 20 years.
In a contrite audio message on her website, Madonna acknowledges the anger coming from Australian fans after bypassing this market for a fifth consecutive world tour.
"To all of my Australian fans I am really and truly sorry to have disappointed you," she said.
"That's something I don't feel very good about. I know the last time I was on tour I missed Australia as well. I can promise you in my heart of hearts it was my intention to come again, but like the last time my children are my first periority.
"I have two scales I have to weigh in front me of me, my job as a singer and entertainer and my job as a mother. Because my children are older I can't take them on the road with me everywhere...at the end of the year I really feel I would be an irresponsible parent if I didn't stop my tour and spend time with them.
"I know a lot of you are angry with me, upset with me, disappointed. I did everything I could, I thought long and hard about it, I thought the best thing for me to do would be to end my seven months on the road at the end of the year and not continue on with my tour so I could spend time with my children who need me."
Madonna's MDNA tour will now end in Argentina on December 22.
However the Australian leg - outdoor shows in Brisbane, Sydney and Melbourne - was due to take place in the first week of January, adding around three weeks to the tour.
Paul Cashmere, of music website Noise 11, was not buying Madonna playing the mother card again.
"What a load of insincere load of rubbish,' Cashmere said.
"Elton John has no trouble travelling with his son and visits Australia regularly. Now that Madonna has “forgiven” Sir Elton, I'm sure he wouldn't mind lending her his nanny."
Madonna has promised to tour Australia some time in the future.
"Please forgive me, and know when I do come to Australia I will have made the wait worth your while and I will put on the greatest show on earth and I haven't forgetten about you.
"I hope you can understand and forgive me and I want to say I love you, all of you, everyone in Australia and I hope to get there very soon."
Lifelong Madonna fan Trent Titmarsh said the recycled excuse was "too little, too late".
Titmarsh flew to London to see the singer's Hyde Park shows last month, paying $400 for tickets.
"I find it hard to accept this `apology' from Madonna," Titmarsh said today.
"It is the same apology and excuse she officially gave when she cancelled coming to Australia in 2006 and 2008. Aussie fans have been waiting for 20 years for her to tour here again.
"If she was serious she would have started the tour in Australia to avoid any disappointment and make it up to her Aussie fans. I truly hope she keeps her word but it has been disappointment after disappointment, promises that are never fulfilled. Would GaGa or Elton John be so mean to their Australian fans?"
The MDNA tour has received mixed reviews overseas - the star bypassing greatest hits for nine songs from her MDNA album, the worst-selling studio album of her career.
The album's third single, Turn Up the Radio, failed to chart in Australia and is her first single since 1983 to not chart in the UK. Previous single Girl Gone Wild peaked at No.94 in Australia and No.73 in the UK.
After weeks of being bombarded by Australian fans on Twitter, Madonna's manager Guy Oseary tweeted her apology this morning.
Her MDNA tour is expected to make over $214 million, which would put it in the Top 10 highest-grossing tours of all time.
The figures fly in the face of Elton John calling the tour "a disaster" and saying the 54 year old looked like a "fairground stripper" on stage in her skimpy outfits.


From ABC Queensland - Australian Broadcasting Corporation (ABC):

Family before Aus concert for Madonna
27 August 2012 , 4:55 PM by Terri Begley

If you're a Madonna fan still struggling to cope with the news that she's not including Australia in her current world tour, at least now you can find out why.
Despite having a tremendously hectic schedule, the material girl was able to be find a couple of minutes for her Australian fans to apologise, saying family commitments come first.
But should you accept her apology?
SMH music man, BERNARD ZUEL, is sitting in judgement.

Download the audio file HERE


From News.com.au:

Madonna says she cancelled Australia tour to spend time with kids
From: news.com.au
August 27, 2012 11:50AM

MADONNA has finally revealed why she scrapped the Australian leg of her world tour - twice - to stay at home with the kids.
In a recorded audio-only message on her official website, the popstar apologised for letting Australian fans down but said her children needed her more.
"I have two scales I have to weigh in front of me, my job as a singer and entertainer and my job as a mother," she said.
"At the end of the year I really feel I would be an irresponsible parent if I did not stop the tour and be home with them.
"My daughter's going to be leaving home soon - she's almost 16 years old. I feel really bad because I do not take your love and support for me for granted."
Madonna flagged her intentions to tour here back in January following intense lobbying from fans after she skipped Australia on her Sticky and Sweet tour in 2008.
She had planned to visit for two weeks at the end of her seven-month MDNA tour, which features her son Rocco dancing on stage and daughter Lourdes working in wardrobe.
The singer acknowleged she had "made a lot of fans angry" and asked them to forgive her, promising she would make it up to them.
"Know that when I come to Australia I will have made the wait worth your while and will put on the greatest show on earth," she said.


From The West Australian:

Madonna apologises to Australian fans
AAP, The West Australian
August 27, 2012, 12:05 pm

Madonna has asked her Australian fans to forgive her after cancelling plans to visit Down Under with her MDNA tour, stating she needs to spend time with her family.
The Material Girl recorded her apology and released it on YouTube on Sunday, saying she felt bad about disappointing her fans.
"I know the last time I was on tour I missed Australia as well," she said.
Madonna said she has to give priority to her duties as a mother, as she's unable to take her children with her on tour all of the time.
"At the end of the year I feel I would be an irresponsible parent if I didn't stop my tour and spend time with them," she said.
Madonna experienced a huge backlash from fans after confirming in July that she would not be bringing her MDNA tour to Australia.
A West Australian radio station responded by banning her tracks from its playlist.
In her statement, the singer said she doesn't take any of her fans around the world for granted.
"Please forgive me and know that when I do come to Australia I will have made the wait worth your while and I will put on the greatest show on earth."

Publié dans Tours

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article
H
Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your site and in accession capital to assert that I get in fact enjoyed account your blog posts. Any way I will be subscribing to your feeds and even I achievement you access consistently quickly.
Répondre
C
I absolutely love your blog and find almost all of your post's to be precisely what I'm looking for. Does one offer guest writers to write content for you personally? I wouldn't mind producing a post or elaborating on a lot of the subjects you write with regards to here. Again, awesome website!
Répondre