'My New York' by Carlos Leon

Publié le par madonnafansworld

'Mon New York' par Carlos Leon.


New York Post - Mar 05 07:24pm

'My New York' by Carlos Leon
Carlos Leon

You never know who you might meet biking through Central Park. Carlos Leon met Madonna. The two got together in 1994 and, two years later, had a daughter, Lourdes.
Leon and Madonna split in 1997, but the relationship remains “very friendly,” he says. “We have a daughter together. That’s it in a nutshell.” Leon, who was raised on West 91st Street and now lives on the Lower East Side, continues to work as a personal trainer and actor. His latest film is “Immigration Tango,” out now. This is his New York.

 

'My New York' by Carlos Leon
AllSaints Spitalfields, 512 Broadway, between Broome and Spring streets

[Lourdes] and I both like to go shopping. We’ll go to Top Shop and Urban Outfitters and all those places. She gave me a couple shirts from AllSaints for my birthday. That place is just my style — not too clean. I don’t want to be too dressy. It’s very urban and rugged.”

 

'My New York' by Carlos Leon
Snack Dragon Taco Shack, 199 E. Third St., at Avenue B

[Lourdes and I] like going to movies, then we go out to eat. She loves the places that I take her. Snack Dragon is a little hole in the wall. It’s literally a shack. They have tacos, but healthy tacos: fish, meat and quinoa. They’re so delicious, and it’s cheap and healthy food. She loves that place.”

 

'My New York' by Carlos Leon
New York Hardcore Tattoos, 127 Stanton St., at Essex Street

I got two of my tattoos done in New York, but the parlor where I got them isn’t around anymore. But I do have a place where I’ll be getting a new tattoo. It’s called New York Hardcore. I’m not sure what to get. If you’re going to put something on any part of your body that’s permanent, it has to mean something. I have a Native American symbol. To me it means warrior and protection. Growing up, I always liked the underdog. Watching old Westerns, I was curious about how the Indians were portrayed. It made me want to read up on them. I always felt connected to the indigenous people. Maybe in a past life I was one, or something.”

 

'My New York' by Carlos Leon
The Odeon Restaurant, 145 West Broadway, at Thomas Street

I don’t remember exactly where [Madonna and I] went on our first date, but I think it was Odeon. It’s a beautiful place. It has that authenticity of New York.”

 

'My New York' by Carlos Leon
Cafe Gitane, 242 Mott St., at Prince Street

I like to go in the morning for breakfast. They take care of me there. They make me feel like I’m at home. I’m a vegetarian, so I have the vegetarian couscous or the avocado sandwich with the whole-grain bread. It’s delicious.”

 

'My New York' by Carlos Leon
Bell Fitness Company, 12 St. Marks Place, between Second and Third avenues

This is where I train and work out. Jeff Bell is my business partner, and he’s been around 35 years. We’re both fit, and we both know what we’re talking about.”

Publié dans Interviews

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article