The press on Madonna's appeal for help to build girls school in Malawi

Publié le par madonnafansworld

La presse sur l'appel de Madonna pour l'aider à construire une école pour filles au Malawi.


Madonna to build girls school in Malawi, appeals for help

London, Nov 14 : Pop diva Madonna has taken a break from her world tour to concentrate on the girls school that she is building in Malawi.
Contactmusic.com reports that Madonna has filmed a brief video message about the Raising Malawi Academy for Girls and has posted it on her website to seek help from her fans.
In the message, Madonna writes: "After witnessing the potential of Malawi's girls firsthand, I made it my mission to give them an opportunity to become their personal best.
"There are very few girls in Africa in general who are encouraged or allowed to go to secondary schools so, after spending a lot of time there, I realised that one of the ways I could help was to build a girls school. I would really be grateful if you would get involved and help me in any way you can with donations, spreading the word, visiting my website, reading about the progress we've made so far. Please visit our website. I would appreciate any help you could give us."
Madonna has been a regular visitor to Malawi in recent years and adopted son David from an orphanage in the country.

Source: NewKerala/IANS.


MADONNA APPEALS FOR GIRLS SCHOOL HELP
14/11/2008 01:36:59

MADONNA has taken a break from her world tour to ask fans to help her build a girls school in Malawi.
The pop superstar has filmed a brief video message about the Raising Malawi Academy for Girls and posted it on her website.
Introducing the new message, Madonna writes, "After witnessing the potential of Malawi's girls firsthand, I made it my mission to give them an opportunity to become their personal best."
In the video, shot in a hotel room, the singer says, "There are very few girls in Africa in general who are encouraged or allowed to go to secondary schools so, after spending a lot of time there, I realised that one of the ways I could help was to build a girls school.
"I would really be grateful if you would get involved and help me in any way you can with donations, spreading the word, visiting my website, reading about the progress we've made so far.
"Please visit our website. I would appreciate any help you could give us."
Madonna has been a regular visitor to Malawi in recent years, and adopted son David from an orphanage in the country.

Source: Contact Music.


Madonna urges fans to help her build girls' school in Malawi

Washington, Nov 14 : Popstar Madonna has taken a break from her 'Sticky & Sweet' world tour in order to urge her fans to support her in building an all-girl school in Malawi.
The '4 Minute' hitmaker has filmed a brief video message about the Raising Malawi Academy for girls and posted it on her website for the noble cause.
"After witnessing the potential of Malawi's girls firsthand, I made it my mission to give them an opportunity to become their personal best," Contactmusic quoted Madonna, as stating in her message.
Madonna shot a video in her hotel room to record her appeal to all to help the Malawi girls excel in life by funding for their school.
"There are very few girls in Africa in general who are encouraged or allowed to go to secondary schools so, after spending a lot of time there, I realized that one of the ways I could help was to build a girls school," Madonna said.
"I would really be grateful if you would get involved and help me in any way you can with donations, spreading the word, visiting my website, reading about the progress we've made so far. Please visit our website. I would appreciate any help you could give us," she added.
Madonna has been a regular visitor to Malawi, and has adopted son David from an orphanage in the country.

Source: NewKerala/ANI.


Madonna appeals for girls school help
14/11/2008
WENN
 
Madonna has taken a break from her world tour to ask fans to help her build a girls school in Malawi.
The pop superstar has filmed a brief video message about the Raising Malawi Academy for Girls and posted it on her website.
Introducing the new message, Madonna writes, "After witnessing the potential of Malawi's girls firsthand, I made it my mission to give them an opportunity to become their personal best."
In the video, shot in a hotel room, the singer says, "There are very few girls in Africa in general who are encouraged or allowed to go to secondary schools so, after spending a lot of time there, I realised that one of the ways I could help was to build a girls school.
"I would really be grateful if you would get involved and help me in any way you can with donations, spreading the word, visiting my website, reading about the progress we've made so far.
"Please visit our website. I would appreciate any help you could give us."
Madonna has been a regular visitor to Malawi in recent years, and adopted son David from an orphanage in the country.

Source: WENN.


Madonna launches Malawian girls’ school appeal – video
By Beth Hardie, Mirror.co.uk 14/11/2008

Madonna has released a video to appeal for help in building a girls’ school in Malawi.
Despite her messy divorce with husband Guy Ritchie and being on a tour, the queen of pop is turning her attention to helping the girls of Malawi.
On her official website, she says: “I’m sure you know that I’m on tour right now and I’m having an amazing time. But there are other things that I’m doing that are equally important to me and that are very near and dear to my heart. One of them is a girls’ school that I’m building in Malawi.” Click player to see the video...

 



Madonna adopted son David Banda from the African country and has remained dedicated to raising awareness of the plight of children there.
On the site she explains she is building the school to help girls achieve their best.
“After witnessing the potential of Malawi’s girls firsthand, I made it my mission to give them an opportunity to become their personal best.”
Public donations can be made at www.raisingmalawi.org/rm_girlsacademy.php

Source: Mirror.

Madonna and adopted Malawian son David
Madonna and adopted Malawian son David.

Madonna appeals to fans to donate to Malawi school
Alex Dobuzinskis – Fri Nov 14, 9:03 pm ET

LOS ANGELES (Reuters) - Pop diva Madonna is asking fans to donate money so she can build a girls' school in Malawi for underprivileged children.
In a video posted on her Web site, the singer described her inspiration for building the multimillion dollar project.
"There are very few girls in Africa in general who are encouraged or allowed to go to secondary school, so after spending a lot of time there I realized that one of the ways I could help is to build a girls' school," said Madonna , who officially adopted a young Malawian boy, David Banda, in May.
"I would really be grateful if you would get involved and help me in any way that you can, with donations, spreading the word, visiting my Web site, reading about the progress that we've made so far," Madonna said in the appeal, which was posted on Thursday.
Madonna , 50, is currently on the U.S. leg of her world tour, and is going through a divorce from British film director Guy Ritchie.
Talk show host Oprah Winfrey has also sought to improve the education of African girls , building a $40 million (26.9 million pound) all- girl leadership academy in South Africa.
Madonna calls her project The Raising Malawi Academy for Girls. She has also established a charity for Malawi's orphans called Raising Malawi and produced a documentary this year about the plight of children orphaned by the AIDS crisis in one of the world's poorest countries.

Source: Reuters.


Like Oprah, Madonna to Open School in Africa
Friday November 14, 2008

Madonna wants to follow in the footsteps of Oprah.
The singer has released a video on her Web site asking fans for donations to a girls' school in Malawi.
"There are very few girls in Africa in general who are encouraged or allowed to go to secondary school so after spending a lot of time there I realized that one of the ways I could help was to build a girls' school," she said.
She continued: "I would really be grateful if you would get involved and help me in any way that you can with donations, spreading the word, visiting my website, reading about the progress that we've made so far.... I would appreciate any help you could give us."
Madonna has made regular visits to Malawi since adopting her youngest son David, 3.
Madonna found David at an orphanage through her Raising Malawi charity and was later granted temporary custody.
The High Court in the capital of Lilongwe approved the adoption this past May after a two-year battle.
Oprah Winfrey opened a school for promising girls from deprived backgrounds in South Africa in January 2007.
"The school is a symbol of leadership, it stands for what is possible for African children," Winfrey said at the opening.
The Oprah Winfrey Leadership Academy for Girls, is located in the small town of Henley-on-Klip, south of Johannesburg.

Source: US magazine.


Like Oprah, Madonna to Open School in Africa
Madonna attends a screening of "Filth and Wisdom" hosted by The Cinema Society and Dolce and Gabbana on October 13, 2008 in New York City. Oprah Winfrey waits her turn at the mike as she reacts to the fun at the 20th Reunion Festival in Whitesboror, NJ where Oprah is the honored speaker.
Photo: Stephen Lovekin/Getty Images and Donald Kravitz/Getty Images.


Madonna backs Malawi school drive
Page last updated at 12:11 GMT, Saturday, 15 November 2008

Pop star Madonna is urging her fans to dig deep to raise money to build a girls' school in Malawi, the home country of her adopted son David.
The singer posted a message on her website saying the project was "very near and dear to my heart".
She said she felt it was her mission to help "impoverished girls to reach their full potential".
Madonna and her estranged husband, Guy Ritchie, adopted three-year-old David in 2006.
The adoption was made official in May 2008, just months before Madonna and Ritchie announced the end of their marriage after nearly eight years.
Speaking of the Raising Malawi Academy for Girls appeal, Madonna said: "There are very few girls in Africa in general who are encouraged or allowed to go to secondary school.
"So after spending a lot of time there I realised that one of the ways I could help was to build a girls' school."
She added: "Every donation counts towards helping impoverished girls to reach their full potential."
More than half of the population of Malawi lives below the poverty line, and extreme weather - from drought to floods - puts its food supplies under constant threat.
There is also a high rate of HIV and Aids infection among the 13.9 million-strong population.

Source: BBC NEWS.

Publié dans Charity

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article